About Michaela

About Michaela Main Image

I'm Michaela.

I’ve lived in regional Victoria for most of my life, choosing to raise my family here. I am a proud single mum of two amazing young men, my sons Sam and Alex.

I'm a straightforward person and I want to get on with the things that matters.

Like skills training to prepare people for the job they want, locally available health care, excellent schools, good roads and public transport, and to help with the cost of living.

I am passionate about preserving the qualities that make regional cities and towns so close knit, while ensuring we have all the facilities, services and infrastructure that will afford our children the same opportunities that those in our capital cities enjoy.

I’ve worked in media, been a farmer and a stay-at-home Mum. Prior to working in politics, I worked at Ballarat Community Health and witnessed every day the challenges faced by our community and the wonderful people who are dedicated to empowering others to take control of their lives.

I was honoured to be elected the State Member for Buninyong in 2018, and to be re-elected as the State Member for Eureka in November 2022.

Each day, I work to make a difference for local people; taking up issues for local sports clubs and community organisations and helping people who are struggling to get the assistance they need.

I'm here to help so please don’t hesitate to contact my office if you have any State Government issues I can assist you with.

The Eureka Electorate

The name Eureka originates from site of the Eureka Rebellion. Considered by many as the birth of democracy in Australia, it was here that rebel miners first flew the Eureka Flag. Now, Eureka is home to the Eureka Stockade Gardens and the Eureka Centre, home of the Eureka Flag.

The electorate of Eureka is a mixed rural-urban seat covering the area to the west of Melton, northwest of Geelong, and east of Ballarat. The electorate covers the southern parts of the Ballarat metropolitan area to Canadian, Ballarat East and other suburbs, and most of the Moorabool Shire and Golden Plains Shire.

The Eureka electorate is made up of Bacchus Marsh, Ballan, Brown Hill, Bungaree, Buninyong, Canadian, Clarendon, Darley, Elaine, Eureka, Gordon, Inverleigh, Lethbridge, Maddingley, Meredith, Mount Clear, Mount Egerton, Mount Pleasant, Rokewood, Shelford, Teesdale, and Warrenheip. The electorate covers 3,915 square kilometres.